Class Year


Document Type


Date of Creation

Fall 2011

Department 1

Conservatory of Music


"Fugue in A Minor" was composed during the Fall 2011 section of "Counterpoint and Composition" offered at the Sunderman Conservatory of Music at Gettysburg College. The piece is composed in the style of J. S. Bach's fugues in his famous collection of solo keyboard music called The Well-Tempered Clavier. "Fugue in A Minor" is a four part fugue, featuring a traditional exposition, followed by a development section including sequences and fugue subject entries, and concluding with a recapitulation of the initial fugue material and a coda.

Included in

Composition Commons